Sheng Xiao: Animals of the Chinese Zodiac

Chinese Australian Cultural Society Ballarat

Sheng Xiao, the Chinese Zodiac, is based on a 12-year cycle, with each year represented by an animal: rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, sheep, monkey, rooster, dog and pig. To celebrate the Chinese Moon Festival, which is celebrated during September, the Art Gallery of Ballarat is presenting a display of all the animals in the zodiac in the shape of 12 super-sized lanterns including three extra-large pigs to represent the current Year of the Pig. The lanterns can be viewed from inside the Gallery or outside in Alfred Deakin Place. This lantern display is presented in partnership with the Chinese Australian Cultural Society Ballarat Inc.